Conceptual Play

Jane Martin’s Beauty takes the concept of beauty and examines its advantages and drawbacks, what it enables and disables. Pick a concept that you think needs investigation. Write a two-minute play that exposes its myths and its realities. What idea would be fun to play with? Show the limits and possibilities of that idea in your play. Make use of the play’s form and elements (set, characters, dialogue, etc.) in reflecting the different aspects of your probe.

This entry was posted in Reading and Analysis 2016 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Conceptual Play

  1. REALS says:

    A monologue: Freedom
    Setting: An apartment
    (The girl is standing on a chair holding a noose in her hand)
    I read the play “Beauty” in order to pass the exams. I didn’t take it seriously, it was just a play, a lesson. However, three months ago, while I was alone dancing to some hip-hop songs, this translucent realistic lifelike giant emerged from the red Nestle cup. I was like whoa, the LSD really got me this time. Then I remembered that I had quitted that thing for like 3 and a half day then. So what was this? A dream or what? Fast forward to that cliché scene where Genie said his line about giving me wishes blah blah, but what special was my wish was unlimited. The only thing is that I cannot return the wish no matter what. I was like ,oh, okay I could do that. After that Wherever or Whatever I thought of, I would be there, I would have it.
    (The scene change to places mentioned)
    So I went to good old Paris.
    Where else did I go, Italy, all countries in Asia, all in Europe ,Australia. You can name every most visited cities, I’ve been there all.

    I thought about several expensive ass food. Caviar, Truffle, those of every restaurants the Buzzeed show on Youtube promotes. It was all good. I was on the top of the world.

    More than that, I got a chance to date Christiano Ronundo (I can’t even spell his name right but yeah, that guy with a giant neck who plays football)
    Lil wayne, or even the deceased James Dean. That genie boy got all covered for me.

    That went on for just three months before I got this disassosiated feeling. I felt numb. I didn’t want anything anymore. All the freedom I had became excess. It’s too much. I needed some limit, needed the deprivation. I need attachment. I needed anything but freedom. I can’t feel a thing that I got scared.
    But that genie guy though. He won’t let me take this magical wish back.
    Freedom is what all everyone wants. This abstract concept is, however, not practical in my situations somehow. There’s nothing waiting for me to see anymore. I’ve seen it all. I get bored to death.

    (She put the noose around her neck)
    I’ve had enough of freedom. Freedom gets me so numb.

    Blackout.

  2. lanyassi says:

    Oh! I Forgot!
    CHARACTERS
    Cindy
    Adam
    SETTINGS: office hallway after work

    Adam: Hey! How’s it goin’? You look so tired. What’s wrong?
    Cindy: Hi, I got very terrible day today. Last night I worked on my super important presentation until late, and I forgot to set my alarm clock. I rushed to work. I arrived at the office quite late.
    Adam: So sorry to hear that but how was your presentation going? I think you did great, didn’t you?
    Cindy: I forgot the thumb drive at my apartment.
    Adam: What? You’re kidding?
    Cindy: No, I’m not kidding. I had to improvise the presentation from my memory. I made quick and easy power point in the morning.
    Adam: How was the meeting participants’ reaction?
    Cindy: I don’t know. They all sat in silence. Then, they moved to another topic quite quickly. I don’t know how my future in this company is going to be. No! I am so forgetful… so stupid. How could I have done so many stupid things? (start crying)
    Adam: Please, don’t cry! It’s not the end of the world.
    Cindy: But, it might be the end of my life.
    Adam: Oh, come on! Be optimistic! You got the greatest talent humans have ever had.
    Cindy: The great ability to forget, ha?
    Adam: Yes, exactly!
    Cindy: You’re joking. It’s not even funny.
    Adam: I am not joking. If humans cannot forget, they cannot start doing something new. If humans didn’t forget useless, old-fashioned tradition, how would they have created high civilization? How can groups of people start reconciling with their old enemies without forgiveness? How can ‘to forgive’ make perfect sense without ‘to forget?’
    Cindy: But… (her cellphone rings.). (to Adam) wait a moment. (to her phone) Hello, I’m Cindy… Okay… (pause for a moment) ba-bye! (to Adam) I think I can start something new now.
    Adam: That’s great. Good for you.
    Cindy: Start finding a new job. I got fired. Thanks! Bye!
    -Black Out-

  3. Duyst Tuireletra says:

    Kindness

    Goodwill (Middle-aged, a businessman from a bourgeoisie class, gaudily dressed)
    Sceptic (Middle-aged, a soldier, plainly but neatly dressed)

    Setting: A pub.

    [Goodwill is sitting beside Sceptic, his childhood friend. They are both out for a drink at Cheryl’s.]

    Goodwill: [Mumbles to himself] Good grief, those poor souls! I wish I could help them more.
    Sceptic: What are you mumbling to yourself?
    Goodwill: I’m just so devastated, my friend.
    Sceptic: About what precisely?
    Goodwill: My hands! They were asking for a pay rise. They said they needed more to feed their wives and children.
    Sceptic: That’s most certainly impossible to realise, is it not?
    Goodwill: It’s rather funny you should say that. I actually did give them a pay rise, under the condition that they work overtime! What a brilliant idea! I consider myself to be a kind master, don’t you agree?
    Sceptic: Overtime? Aren’t they already working for hours on end?
    Goodwill: If one wishes to succeed, one must work hard! Don’t you think that the only reason they’re such wretches is they refuse to work their fingers to the bone. No pain, no gain, my friend. That’s irrefutable.
    Sceptic: You might be right. I’m wondering at what time to your hands begin their work. Is it from eight in the—
    Goodwill: Half past six! Sharp! As a thriving businessman, I do not allow a second of indolence or tardiness within my factory! That is to guarantee success, and, more importantly, their own benefit; that is a job that lets those poor souls put food on the table.
    Sceptic: I see. Goodwill, what do you usually do at half past six?
    Goodwill: Oh! I will probably be relishing a meal with Titania. One does not simply leave one’s bed when such a sight is to be seen.
    Sceptic: And until when do those hands of yours work?
    Goodwill: Tick tock. Tick tock. Half past six!
    Sceptic: In the evening? That’s twelve hours. Well, what do you usually do at half past six?
    Goodwill: Why are you asking me all these questions all of a sudden? Well, I’ll be enjoying a drink or two at Tennyson’s, then I’ll be off to Butcher’s for dinner at seven. I’ll also make sure to be home by nine; I don’t want to hear that old hag from Hell nag at me for hours. You know her well, don’t you?
    Sceptic: I do, but when, then, my friend, do you work?
    Goodwill: Me? What absurdity is this, my friend? I work at all times!

  4. Dearing says:

    Intelligence

    Starring: Khaow, Nisa

    Scene: In the classroom. Khaow and Nisa are Matthayom 6 students. It is the first day of the semester.

    Nisa: Khaow, how’s life? ํYou always turned offline on Facebook, nor did you reply my message.
    Khaow: Oh, it has been a bit rough recently, but don’t worry, it will be okay. Sorry that I did not answer your message, I was just too busy.
    Nisa: I heard you were suffering from stress. Is that true?
    Khaow: Yes, I would have to admit that I studied a lot during previous semester break. I woke up at 5 in the morning to go to tutorial school, which my class ended at 6 in the evening every day.
    Nisa: It’s rough as you say. but what’s the point of that? You are in the forefront of the school now, and hardly will someone be able to compete with you. I know you love competition, but if it riskyo to your health and mental state, then you should get hold of yourself a little bit and relax. You will excel in every course, girl.
    Khaow: To acquire intelligence, you have to relentlessly study. How can you be intelligent if you feel comfortable with yourself, I mean, being in the comfort zone? There are so many people out there who can outstrip me. Being in top three school of Thailand does not mean you can stop studying by the way.
    Nisa: Yes, I understand your point. Everyone, specifically we students, have to study and seek for knowledge from comprehensive fields to enlighten out mind and broaden our horizon. Well. it’s not just that because you will have a better chance to get into good university. However, you do not have to push yourself too hard. It only destroys your life.
    Khaow: Well, I want to be intelligent, like that boy whom I admire, who gets a gold medal from International Mathematics Olympiad competition.
    Nisa: But this is not the only way you can define yourself intelligent, Khaow.
    Khaow: Pardon?
    Nisa: Being intelligent in studying is just only one perspective of intelligence. There are so many other ways you can define how one is intelligent.
    Khaow: How come? That sounds interesting.
    Nisa: I will use my mother’s story whom I respect very much then. You know, my mother did not have a chance to study in high school because her family did not have enough money to pay for her tuition fees. She decided to stop studying and worked hard to sustain the life of herself and her family. She did a lot of things from which she could gain experience and money. In the end, she could save enough money to take care of my grandma and grandpa until the final breath of their lives. My mother, I would say, was in the red throughout her life, but she did not give up. She knew she might not be intelligent in others’ eyes because she did not acquire a degree at all, but she always availed herself of opportunity she could muster. That was life before she met my father. Her life after marriage was hard and unpleasant because my father was always high and spent money on frivolous things. My mother then had to be a leader of the family with her own strength. My mother decided to divorce my father when I was just 6, the age when I could perceive and understand life. It was the moment when my life was kind of devastated. I only asked myself why life of mine had to be in this way. Why couldn’t I have a lovely father like my friend at school? Did he love me by the way? Who was I to him? Anyway, my mother professionally took care of me. She did not show her weakness to me at all, though I sometimes saw her crying alone. I surmised she didn’t want to make me feel worried. She, as a single mom who never had a good life, could bring me up until now, the daughter of the girl who could acquire intelligence in her own way — to be responsible for everything in her life, to be looking forward to any opportunity, to be ready to face any circumstances, and to be cleverly smart to raise her child to be strong and industrious like her. Her concerted effort is what I define intelligence, and many would agree with my definition.
    Khaow: I’m sorry to hear that, Nisa. I know your life is not as comfortable as that of mine, but you do possess perseverance which reflects in your eyes and your soul. Yes, intelligence can be defined in many ways as you told me. Your mother impresses me so much! Thanks!
    Nisa: No problem. Next time please balance your life a little bit more as I love you, okay?
    Khaow: Yes! Well, I think it’s time for school’s morning ceremony. Let’s go!

  5. Audrey Horne says:

    BASED ON A TRUE CONVERSATION

    One night in Bangkok, a girl and a boy are waiting for a bus

    The girl: Have you seen the news? A 6-year-old boy was raped and murdered by monks! What a putrid world! The worst part is a police officer commented in an interview that the monks’ ‘weapon’ must be ‘unbearable’ for the victim. That is the most disgusting thing one could say.
    The boy: Is the officer an authority
    The girl: Well, he was interviewed so I think yeah
    The boy: Then that’s bad
    The girl: What are you suggesting? Being an authority or not doesn’t affect the heartlessness of the comment, does it?
    The boy: It actually does. Authorized people are expected to be more cautious with what they say than unauthorized people, who can make just any kind of speech. After all, that’s why they are unauthorized to give information
    The girl: I don’t think so. That particular comment is simply ruthless and callous. Only nasty people could have said or THINK that
    The boy: Don’t you have any idea of freedom of speech?
    The girl: What?
    The boy: There shouldn’t be any limit for a speech
    The girl: So you don’t think that kind of comment is wrong in any sense?
    The boy: No, like I said. It’s a speech and the speaker has the right to express what they think. The only thing that is wrong about it is the fact that he’s an authority. He should have been more careful
    The girl: Wow… So tell me, what you think of the internet trolls that comment ‘Kill them and rape their women’ on a Facebook live broadcasting an ongoing war?
    The boy: What do you expect them to say? ‘Oh I hate war and violence! Poor civilians!’ or something? Would that make anything better? No. Those sympathetic comments are as useless.
    The girl: I can’t believe you’re being serious
    The boy: Think about it. Freedom of speech is a thing in western world. Don’t you remember Charlie Hebdo?
    The girl: I believe there must be some limits to it. One can’t just say EVERYTHING they think. That is just not right! What about slutshaming rape victims? How exactly do you justify that?
    The boy: The speech is not wrong; slutshaming is.
    The girl: How do you separate speech and its content?
    The boy: I don’t know how to explain it yet but I hope you got the idea that speech is just utterance and that can’t be wrong.
    Before the girl could say anything, the bus arrives
    The girl: Oh, here comes the bus! But don’t think our conversation is over yet. I insist that speech should have limits. Let’s continue our debate on the bus.
    The boy: Sure thing, baby

Leave a comment